Whither this blog?

This is the third post of the day, on what is the final day of my  sabbatical. Tomorrow I am back in the church office for the first time in three months. I return with slightly mixed feelings but bouyed up by the news of the new minister who will be joining us in the summer: Revd Kim Donghwan, originally from Korea but coming from Chessington in the Kingston-upon-Thames Circuit. That’s one less thing to worry about – I must admit I have been a little anxious about returning to work in what is sometimes a pressured and demanding environment. It is ironic that the Gospel text for this Sunday includes Jesus’ words: “So do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring worries of its own.” (Matthew 6:24, NRSV) Perhaps I need to start reflecting on the meaning of these words in my own context and recommit myself to the task of striving first for God’s kingdom and God’s justice. (Matthew 6:23)

Originally I set up this blog as a way of recording my sabbatical, both to keep in touch with church members and friends, and as a journal for my own edification. I have attempted to post a blog entry daily and have found the discipline of writing very helpful. I enjoy writing. Most days I have had 20 to 30 people visiting the blog, sometimes as many as 50. I hope you have enjoyed reading my idle reflections as much as I have enjoyed writing them. Very occasionally people respond to my posts, sometimes on this site, but more often on Facebook. Thank you for your interest and encouragement.

So, whither this blog? I am going to keep it going for the foreseeable future, and let’s see how we get on. I’m not sure that I will be able to post quite so often and inevitably the focus will change a little; I’ll try posting material from my sermons and Bible studies, so perhaps it will get a bit more theological. Whatever happens, I’ll try to keep it fun.

But for now, I need to change the tagline of the blog and remove the word ‘sabbatical’. And thank you for coming with me on this sabbatical journey.

About Holloway Rev

Paul Weary is a Methodist minister living and working in Holloway, North London.
This entry was posted in Sabbatical. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whither this blog?

  1. "dad" says:

    For once I have known what you are doing. Have enjoyed being kept up to date.
    Will keep watching.

  2. Miriam says:

    *grins*

    Have really enjoyed reading your musings. I use my public blog for sermons/journeys and other meanderings, and I’m always surprised when people read.

    Hope I get to see you some time.

  3. I fοr all time emailed this weblog post page
    to all my associates, ѕince if like tο read it аfter that my links will toо.

Leave a Reply

