Have a very blessed Christmas

Crib and candles at Caledonian Road Methodist Church

Crib and candles at Caledonian Road Methodist Church

It is now very late in Advent, indeed as I write Christmas Eve is just a few minutes away. We spent most of today food shopping in preparation for Christmas dinner – we are expecting 15 or so on Christmas Day. Evereything’s pretty much ready, bar actually cooking everything.

Personally I am still basking in the warm glow of yesterday evening’s ‘Carols by Candlelight’ at Archway Methodist Church. It has become our tradition to have this service on the last Thursday evening before Christmas.

I wanted to try something a little different this year. During my search for Christmas resources I came across the wonderful ‘Paperless Christmas‘. This is a series of short videos telling the Christmas story, but imaginatively set in a contemporary context. Designed as discussion starters for religious education in schools, I realised that they might work really well in the carol service. Each of the nine clips introduced a new episode in the story, followed by the appropriate scripture reading and a carol or item by the choir.

It nearly all went horribly wrong when I found that our ageing computer running Songpro refused to display the wmv files. (I could get them on the projector using Windows Media Player, but not as part of a presentation either in Songpro or Powerpoint.) I suspect that it was either a missing codec or a graphics card issue. With just a couple of hours to go I decided to completely redo the presentation in Powerpoint on my own laptop which I hooked up to the church projector and much to my relief it worked beautifully.

The Paperless Christmas clips got a good response and people enjoyed the humour of the shepherds in their Landrover and wise men on motorbikes. We went completely over the top with candles which helped create the atmospherics. The singing wasn’t too bad either.

I took a few photos which I haven’t had a chance to edit, but here is a link to some photos I took earlier in Advent at various events, including the carol service last Sunday at Caledonian Road Methodist Church.

Thanks for reading the blog – and have a very blessed Christmas.

About Holloway Rev

Paul Weary is a Methodist minister living and working in Holloway, North London.
This entry was posted in Advent, Christmas, Tech, Worship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have a very blessed Christmas

  1. Pingback: Christmas Day 2011 | hollowayrev

Leave a Reply

